Now encompassing all of the American Composers Orchestra’s composer advancement initiatives, EarShot is the first ongoing, systematic program for developing relationships between composers and orchestras on the national level. Through EarShot Readings, CoLABoratory fellowships, consortium commissions, and professional development, EarShot ensures a vibrant musical future by investing in creativity today.

EarShot CoLABoratory Residencies advance the work of composers whose work is experimental and/or rooted in musical traditions underrepresented in the orchestral repertoire. Over the course of a year, CoLABoratory provides a generative environment for composers from any and all musical backgrounds to create definition-expanding works for orchestra. Instead of a call for scores, this is a call for ideas to be developed in partnership with the orchestra through an artist-led process.

Fellowships include:
  • Collaborative sessions with performers to workshop musical ideas and foster co-learning over 12 months
  • Readings and public performances of the resulting work
  • Opportunities for the composer to engage in artistic curation, educational programming and community-focused program design
  • Recruitment of partner orchestras to drive future performances and consortium commissions

The application portal is currently closed.
To receive information about future open calls, please subscribe to ACO's email list.

Past Highlights

During the 2022-23 season, four new works for orchestra were premiered by ACO through CoLABoratory fellowships. Works included:
  • seven sides of fire by inti figgis-vizueta
  • Hello, Tomorrow! by Yvette Janine Jackson
  • Cohere Touch by Trevor New
  • DreamTrain by Mendi + Keith Obadike
  • Pulse by Marcus Gilmore