New Virtuoso: Borders

10.30.2024 7:30 PM

October 30, 2024, 7:30 PM ET

Zankel Hall, Carnegie Hall

Mei-Ann Chen, Conductor

Mak Grgik, Guitar

Inbal Segev, Cello

Curtis Stewart, Violin and Electronics


Michael Abels: Borders 

Kebra-Seyoun Charles: New Work (ACO Commission, developed via EarShot CoLABoratory/World Premiere)

Curtis Stewart, Embrace (ACO Commission)

Paul Novak, Forest Migrations (ACO Commission/World Premiere)

Victoria Polevá, The Bell

“The New Virtuoso“ is a series of programs featuring works that defy genre expectations for a solo instrument, and in doing so carve out novel texture, affect and technique in Symphonic composition. This program features works that question the nature and effect of political, gender, and ecologic borders, and how we as humans move and migrate in reaction. With conductor Mei-Ann Chen on the podium, this concert features guitarist Mak Grgik, cellist Inbal Segev, and violinist Curtis Stewart.  ACO will perform three commissions by Kebra-Seyoun Charles, Paul Novak, and Curtis Stewart, alongside works by Michael Abels and Victoria Polevá.