EarShot Readings at the Dallas Symphony Orchestra

6.21.2023 2:00 PM

The Dallas Symphony Orchestra hosts EarShot Readings on Wednesday, June 21, 2023 with four featured composers: Moni (Jasmine) Guo, Diallo Banks, Ricardo Ferro, and Iván Enrique Rodríguez. The composers will work throughout the day with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra musicians and DSO Assistant Conductor Maurice Cohn, and receive feedback from mentor composers Quinn Mason, a 27-year old Dallas-based composer and conductor; “expert in orchestration” (The New York Times) Jimmy López Bellido; and Xi Wang, a Dallas-based composer and faculty member at Southern Methodist University. At 2:00pm that afternoon, the DSO and Cohn perform all four works at Meyerson Symphony Hall, after which a recording will be provided to the participants and published online. The public is invited to a free concert at 2:00pm.

EarShot is the first ongoing, systematic program for developing relationships between composers and orchestras on the national level, developed by the American Composers Orchestra to ensure the vibrant future of new American orchestral music. Over the last 25 years, these readings have provided more than 250 composers with vital artistic and technical resources, as well as career-accelerating public exposure. Alumni of EarShot have won every composition award, including the Pulitzer, GRAMMY, Grawemeyer, American Academy of Arts & Letters, and Rome Prizes, to name a few. Composer-orchestra relationships extend beyond the EarShot Readings, and since 2009, 28 works have been commissioned by partner orchestras from EarShot participants and more than half of selected EarShot composers report receiving a commission directly resulting from their participation.

Reserved tickets are required for this free event. General admission seating.

Read more about Composers & their Works. CLICK HERE –>


Moni (Jasmine) Guo – Rays of the After-rain Evening Sun

Diallo Banks – Chute Libre

Ricardo Ferro – ‘17-North

Iván Enrique Rodríguez – Symphony No. 2: Naa Okùnkùn ti Òkúnta Dídán

Dallas Symphony Orchestra

Maurice Cohn, conductor