2010-11 Season

Friday, July 23, 2010 at 8pm
Saturday, July 24, 2010 at 8pm
Miller Theatre at Columbia University
Jazz Meets Orchestra




John Zorn, Roscoe Mitchell, Leroy Jenkins and Earle Brown are featured composers as ACO & the Center for Jazz Studies at Columbia Univ. kick-off the new Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute at Miller Theatre.

More info…

Friday, Oct. 15, 2010 at 7:30pm
Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall

Orchestra Underground:  Mystics & Magic

Orchestra Underground


George Manahan, conductor
Susan Narucki, soprano
Ursula Oppens, pianist


(NYC Premiere)

(NYC Premiere)
JACOB DRUCKMAN: Nor Spell Nor Charm
(World Premiere, ACO Commission, version for orchestra)

WANG JIE: From the Other Sky
(World Premiere, ACO Commission)

Orchestra UndergroundFriday, December 3, 2010 at 7:30pm
Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall

Orchestra Underground:  A Time & Place

George Manahan, conductor
Maya Beiser, cello
Christopher Trapani, hexaphonic guitar

CHARLES IVES: Central Park In The Dark
DOUGLAS J. CUOMO: Black Diamond Express Train to Hell
(World Premiere, ACO Commission)

(World Premiere, ACO Commission)

JEROME KITZKE: The Fire at 4 a.m.
(World Premiere, ACO Commission)

(World Premiere, ACO/LVMH Commission)

March 17, 2011. FREE ADMISSION.
Dweck Center at Brooklyn Public Library

Composers OutFront!
Doug Cuomo



ACO continues its series presenting composer-performers in intimate settings around the city, with a performance by Douglas J. Cuomo at the Dweck Center for Contemporary Culture at the Brooklyn Public Library, Thurs., March 17 at 7pm. Cuomo is best known for his score to the hit television series Sex and the City. In this setting Cuomo headlines an all-star quintet. AllMusic.com has praised Cuomo for his music which is,“…full of astonishing turns and is never predictable.”

More about Doug Cuomo…

Orchestra Underground:  Playing it UNsafe
Lab Workshops

Monday, Oct. 18, 2010 at 2 pmPlaying it UNsafe

Thursday, Dec. 9, 2010 at 2pm
JCC, 334 Amsterdam Ave at 76th St., NYC

Saturday, Jan. 29, 2011 at 2pm

Tuesday, March 1, 2011 at 2pm

Thursday, March 3, 2011 at 2pm
Aaron Davis Hall, Theater B

ACO’s next musical laboratory. Composers pursuing no-holds-barred explorations that challenge their creative capacities and
stretch the limits of what is possible with an orchestra. This open rehearsal offers the second in a series of glimpses of the works-in-progress. Music by Henry Threadgill, Sean Friar, Joan La Barbara, David Heuser, and Laura Schwendinger. Admission is free with reservation.

More info…

Orchestra Underground: Playing it UNsafe
Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall
Fri., March 4, 2011 at 7:30pm
George Manahan, Music Director & Conductor
Joan La Barbara, voice
Line C3 Percussion

Sean Friar: Clunker Concerto
(World Premiere)

Joan La Barbara: In solitude this fear is lived
(World Premiere)

Laura Schwendinger:Shadings
(World Premiere)

Henry Threadgill: No Gates, No White Trenches, Butterfly Effect
(World Premiere)

More info…

Playing It UNsafe is the first and only professional research and development lab to support the creation of cutting-edge new American orchestral music through no-holds-barred experimentation, encouraging composers to do anything but “play it safe.”Selected from a national search for their willingness to experiment and stretch their own musical sensibilities, these composers test the limits of the orchestra. Playing It UNsafe grew out of ACO’s ongoing mission to commission and perform new music that expands the range of possibilities for – and challenges convention notions about – orchestral music.

The culminating performance of ACO’s season-long collaborative musical laboratory. Composers pursuing no-holds-barred explorations that challenge their creative capacities and stretch the limits of what is possible with an orchestra. New pieces selected through a nationwide search and born from a unique incubation process of workshops, public readings, and collaborative feedback.

June 3-4, 2011Underwood New Music Readings
Miller Theater
at Columbia University
Underwood New Music Readings

In what has become a rite of passage for aspiring orchestral composers, up to eight composers from throughout the United States will be selected to receive a reading of a new work, and one composer will be selected to receive a $15,000 commission for a work to be performed by ACO during an upcoming season.

Miller Theatre at Columbia University
Saturday, June 4, 2011 at 7:30 pm
George Manahan, Conductor

JORDAN KUSPA:  Iterations
KATE SOPER:  Entre les Calanques
MICHAEL DJUPSTROM:  Scène et Pas de deux
JANET JIERU CHEN:  Beyond Distance

NARONG PRANGCHAROEN:  Pubbanimitta for Orchestra

More info…

June 5-6, 2011
Miller Theater at Columbia University

Jazz Composers Readings

Jazz Composers Orchestra

The Center for Jazz Studies at Columbia University and ACO will present the first-ever Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute Readings, the culmination of a process that begins with a week-long Intensive held on the Columbia University campus in July 2010 and led by Center for Jazz Studies director George Lewis. Several JCOI Intensive participants will submit applications to participate in the JCOI Readings on June 5 and 6, 2011. Four to six promising composers will be selected to create new works for orchestra and to work further with mentor composers and conductors in developing these works.

JCOI Readings
MIller Theatre at Columbia University
Monday, June 6th
7:30 pm – 10:00 pm

Erica Lindsay:  Inner Dialogue
Mark HELIAS:Stochasm
Harris EISENSTADT:  Palimpsest
Marianne TRUDEL:  La Promesse

Jacob SACKS: jqxz
Nicole MITCHELL:  Stealing Freedom in Broad Daylight
Adam JENKINSThe Floating Bridge of Dreams
Rufus REID:  Mass Transit: III – Metropolis

More info…

^Back to the Past Seasons