Image of Jennifer Koh playing violin. Credit Juergen Frank

Apr. 20, 2021 at 7:30pm ACO & Jennifer Koh at Carnegie Hall

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 at 7:30 PM
Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall
57th St. and 7th Ave., NYC


Violinist Jennifer Koh’s ongoing exploration of “The New American Concerto” provides the impetus for works by Christopher Cerrone and Lisa Bielawa. Koh’s initiative encourages composers to engage with the issues of the day and respond to them with a violin concerto. Cerrone’s “Breaks and Breaks” features intense dialogues between solo violin and orchestra as they comment on current affairs. Bielawa’s work meditates on the word sanctuary and its significance in the American consciousness. It’s also a deeply personal work with moving quotations of Chopin and Bach—music where Bielawa finds her own sanctuary.


Tickets & Information: 

Subscriptions now available. Single tickets available Wednesday August 19, 2020 at 8am. 









American Composers Orchestra
George Manahan, music director and conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin

CHRIS CERRONE: Breaks and Breaks (New York premiere)
CARLOS BANDERA: new work (World premiere and Underwood commission winner 2018)
LISA BIELAWA: Sanctuary (New York premiere, co-commission with Carnegie Hall, Boston Modern Orchestra Project and the Orlando Philharmonic)

The commission and world premiere performance of the new work by Carlos Bandera is made possible with lead funding from Mr. and Mrs. Paul Underwood.