Headshots of Jack Hughes, Jihyun Kim and Aaron Israel Levin

3 Composers Selected for Commissions

American Composers Orchestra is pleased to announce the following three commissions have been awarded to emerging composers from the 2019 Underwood New Music Readings:

Underwood Commission: Jack Hughes

Consortium for Emerging Composers Commission: Jihyun Kim

Audience Choice Commission: Aaron Israel Levin

Selected from the six participants in ACO’s 28th Underwood New Music Readings, each new work will be performed by ACO in a future season. The Underwood Commission – given to Jack Hughes – has been awarded annually for 28 years, and for the tenth year, audience members at the Underwood New Music Readings had a chance to make their voices heard through the Audience Choice Commission, which goes to Aaron Israel Levin.

The new Consortium Commission for Emerging Composers – which goes to Jihyun Kim – was created as a way to involve more orchestras in supporting emerging composers and to embed multiple performances into the opportunity. Kim receives a commission to write a new work to be performed by ACO, the Alabama Symphony Orchestra (ASO), and American Youth Symphony (AYS) in Los Angeles.

Learn more about each composer’s sound and work:
Jack Hughes: www.soundcloud.com/jackhughes937
Aaron Israel Levin: www.aaronisraellevin.com
Jihyun Kim: www.noeljihyunkim.com

Read the full press release here.