EarShot 2018 Charlotte Symphony Readings

2018 Charlotte Symphony Readings
Thursday March 1, 2018 – Davidson College Duke Family Performance Hall

EarShot (the National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network) and the Charlotte Symphony present the readings of new works by three emerging composers, at Davidson College’s Duke Family Performance Hall (207 Faculty Drive) led by Charlotte Symphony Assistant Conductor Christopher James Lees. The New Music Readings will be the culmination of a series of private readings, feedback sessions, and work with mentor composers Trevor Weston, Wang Jie, and Robert Beaser. The selected composers, chosen from an international candidate pool, are Niloufar Iravani (Fantasy), Jihyun Kim (At Dawn), and Felipe Nieto (Artesania Sonora). On this co-presentation and partnership, Charlotte Symphony President and CEO Mary A. Deissler remarks, “Living composers, and the work they create, are integral to a vibrant culture. The CSO is committed to presenting programs and artists that reflect the diversity of our community.”

Founded in 1932, the Charlotte Symphony is a longstanding nonprofit organization committed to delivering exceptional musical experiences that connect and strengthen the Charlotte community. Led by internationally renowned Music Director Christopher Warren-Green, the Symphony upholds the highest artistic integrity and takes bold steps to engage the community through music that enriches the human spirit. We employ professional full-time orchestra musicians, support two youth orchestras and a volunteer chorus, and offer significant educational programming aimed at improving underserved sections of our community. The Charlotte Symphony is integral to the Charlotte area, serving its community through music that connects and inspires.

The participants and their works:

Niloufar Iravani – Fantasy
Jihyun KimAt Dawn
Felipe NietoArtesiana Sonora

The Charlotte Symphony is a member of EarShot, the national orchestral composition discovery network. EarShot is a program of American Composers Orchestra in partnership with American Composers Forum, the League of American Orchestras, and New Music USA; made possible with the support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University, and The Aaron Copland Fund for Music. Additional funding for women composers is provided by the League of American Orchestras with support of the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.