EarShot 2018 Fort Wayne Philharmonic Readings

2018 Fort Wayne Philharmonic Readings
February 7, 2018 – First Wayne Street United Methodist Church

EarShot (the National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network) and the Fort Wayne Philharmonic present an evening of readings of new works by three emerging composers, at First Wayne Street United Methodist Church (300 East Wayne Street), led by Fort Wayne Philharmonic Music Director Andrew Constantine. The New Music Readings will be the culmination of a series of private readings, feedback sessions, and work with mentor composers Melinda Wagner, Chen Yi, and Alex Minceck. The selected composers, chosen from a national candidate pool, are Nathan Kelly (Redwood), Sohwa Lee (Palindrome), and Robert Rankin (Nijinsky Dances).

In its 74th season, The Fort Wayne Philharmonic’s mission is to inspire and foster a lifelong love of symphonic music through performance and education. Music Director Andrew Constantine leads the Fort Wayne Philharmonic in Masterworks, Pops, Chamber Orchestra, Family, Freimann chamber music series, and special concerts and initiatives. The Philharmonic’s community engagement, professional development, and education programs are influential throughout northeastern Indiana and, together with its many and varied performances, place the organization at the center of the region’s cultural life. All programming is made possible by the support of community individuals, businesses, corporations, and foundations. The Philharmonic is a member of the League of American Orchestras and a funded member of Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne, the Indiana Arts Commission, and National Endowment for the Arts. For more information, visit www.fwphil.org.

The participants and their works:

Nathan Kelly – Redwood
Sohwa LeePalindrome
Robert RankinNijinsky Dances

The Fort Wayne Philharmonic is a member of EarShot, the national orchestral composition discovery network. EarShot is a program of American Composers Orchestra in partnership with American Composers Forum, the League of American Orchestras, and New Music USA; made possible with the support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University, and The Aaron Copland Fund for Music. Additional funding for women composers is provided by the League of American Orchestras with support of the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.