2016 Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Readings and Competition

Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Readings and Competition
September 23, 2016 – Howard L. Schrott Center for the Arts

EarShot Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Composers Competition is designed as an opportunity for emerging composers to develop their works with a professional orchestra. The selected composers for these readings are chosen from a national candidate pool. Each is represented by a new orchestral work to be work-shopped and read by the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra in a free, public concert on September 23, 2016 at 7pm.

The Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, led by Music Director Matthew Kraemer, will rehearse and read each composers’ works, allowing the composers the chance to hear their concepts realized, while audiences will have a window into the creative process. The composers will receive feedback and mentoring from principal ICO musicians, and mentor composers Melinda Wagner, Michael Schelle, and ACO’s Artistic Director Laureate Robert Beaser. ICO’s Composer in Residence, James Aikman will also be in attendance to offer feedback and lead one of the workshops. Following the competition proceedings, one winning composer and work will be selected to be performed by the ICO as part of the Indiana State University’s 50th Anniversary Contemporary Music Festival on Thursday, October 27, 2016 in Terre Haute, IN.

The participants and their works:

Karena Ingram – Animals of the Soltice; Calm of the Equinox
David A. Jones – Aspen
Reinaldo Moya – Passacaglia for Orchestra
Jessica Rudman – Still I Rise
Aaron Severini – Sleet

From the SoundAdvice blog:

The Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra is a member of EarShot, the national orchestral composition discovery network, a partnership with the League of American Orchestras, New Music USA, and American Composers Forum, made possible with the support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Aaron Copland Fund for Music and with public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support of women composers provided by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.