2016 Buffalo Philharmonic JCOI Readings

Buffalo Philharmonic JCOI Readings
September 21, 2016 – Kleinhans Music Hall

The JCOI Readings by the Buffalo Philharmonic will take place at Kleinhans Music Hall, with mentor composers Nicole Mitchell (University of California, Irvine), Anthony Cheung (University of Chicago), and Anthony Davis, conducted by Buffalo Philharmonic Associate Conductor Stefan Sanders. The JCOI Buffalo participants are:

Amina Figarova – The Journey
Gene Knific – Relapse
Hitomi Oba – September Coming
Emilio Solla – Ñandú
Anthony Tidd – The Beginning of the End

From the SoundAdvice blog:

The Buffalo Philharmonic is a member of EarShot, the national orchestral composition discovery network, a partnership with the League of American Orchestras, New Music USA, and American Composers Forum, made possible with the support of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Aaron Copland Fund for Music and with public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support of women composers provided by the Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation.
The Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute is a program of American Composers Orchestra in partnership with the Center for Jazz Studies at Columbia University and the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music. The program is made possible by the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation’s Continuing Innovation Program, and the Herb Alpert Foundation, with additional funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Fromm Music Foundation and with public funds from the National Endowment for the Arts.