Reinaldo Moya Wins EarShot Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Competition


credit: Arthur Moella

credit: Arthur Moella

EarShot (the National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network) has announced composer Reinaldo Moya as the Audience Choice Award winner of the EarShot Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra Composers Competition. As the Audience Choice Award winner, Reinaldo will receive $1,000 and his work, Passacaglia for Orchestra [listen], will be performed by the ICO as part of the Indiana State University’s 50th Anniversary Contemporary Music Festival on Thursday, October 27, 2016, in Terre Haute, IN.

The EarShot ICO Composers Competition was designed as an opportunity for emerging composers to develop their works with a professional orchestra. In addition to Reinaldo, the selected composers for these readings, chosen from a national candidate pool, were Karena Ingram, David Jones, Jessica Rudman, and Aaron Severini. Each was represented by a new orchestral work which was workshopped and read by the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra at the Schrott Center for the Arts, Butler Arts Center in a free, public concert on September 23, 2016, at 7 PM. The Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, led by Music Director Matthew Kraemer, rehearsed and read each composers’ works, allowing the composers the chance to hear their concepts realized, while audiences experienced a peek into the creative process. The composers received feedback and mentoring from principal ICO musicians, and mentor composers Melinda Wagner, Michael Schelle, and American Composers Orchestra’s Artistic Director Laureate Robert Beaser.

29318465744_9ee0463f97_z 29911284246_d975f8858b_z

This program was the result of the ICO’s new partnership with EarShot, a nationwide network of new music readings and composer-development programs. As the nation’s first ongoing, systematic program for identifying emerging orchestral composers, EarShot provides professional-level working experience with orchestras from every region of the country and increases awareness of these composers and access to their music throughout the industry. The program is administered by the American Composers Orchestra (ACO) with partner organizations the American Composers Forum, League of American Orchestras, and New Music USA. The ICO had the distinction of being the first chamber orchestra selected for this project.

In addition to the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, EarShot partnerships have included the New York Philharmonic, Detroit Symphony, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, Berkeley Symphony, Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Memphis Symphony Orchestra, Naples Philharmonic, Nashville Symphony Orchestra, Pioneer Valley Symphony (MA), New York Youth Symphony, and the San Diego Symphony. To date, more than 50 composers have been selected for New Music Readings with orchestras.

About Reinaldo Moya: Passacaglia for Orchestra

Reinaldo Moya’s (b. 1984) music has been performed in Germany, Colombia, Brazil, Australia, Argentina, Venezuela and throughout the U.S. by performers such as the New Jersey Symphony, the Juilliard Orchestra, the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela, the Da Capo Chamber Players, the Attacca Quartet, Zeitgeist, The St. Olaf Orchestra, as well as musicians from the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the Minnesota Orchestra and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, and Alarm Will Sound, among others. He is the recipient of the 2015 McKnight Composers Fellowship, the Van Lier Fellowship from Meet the Composer, and the Aaron Copland Award from the Copland House. Reinaldo has been commissioned by the Minnesota Opera to write a new opera as part of Minnesota Opera’s initiative Project Opera. An adaptation of Will Weaver’s book Memory Boy, the opera has a libretto by Mark Campbell and was premiered in the spring of 2016. Excerpts from his opera Generalissimo have been performed at Symphony Space, and Weill Recital Hall in Carnegie Hall. He graduated from The Juilliard School with both Master’s and Doctorate degrees, under the tutelage of Samuel Adler and Robert Beaser. Reinaldo is Assistant Professor of Composition at Augsburg College in Minneapolis, and has served on the faculty at St. Olaf, and Macalester colleges in Minnesota.

Of his new work, Reinaldo says, “I wrote Passacaglia for Orchestra at the request of my good friend William Harvey, the founder and director of Cultures in Harmony, an American cultural diplomacy organization that I am involved with. A passacaglia is a form in which the bass line remains constant, uniting many different variations that arise from it. In a world increasingly driven by misunderstanding, music can remind us of what we share: the fundamental desire to lead our lives in peace and with mutual respect. For its 10th anniversary in 2015, Cultures in Harmony traveled to some of the countries where we have worked in the past 10 years to demonstrate these connections in a project inspired by the musical form of the passacaglia. Just as the variations of a passacaglia change while the bass line, also called the ‘ground’ remains the same, people from all over the world embody a variety of differences yet share common values and aspirations.

For more Information:

Read full press release