EarShot Buffalo Philharmonic Submission Guidelines


  • Applicants must be either a U.S. citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing, or studying full-time, in the United States. There are no other geographic restrictions.
  • There are no age restrictions; however, applicants should be composers at the early stages of their professional careers.
  • Each composer may submit only one composition for consideration.
  • Compositions must be no more than 15 minutes in length. A portion or movement from a longer work is also eligible.
  • Only works completed after December 31, 2009 will be considered.
  • Only works which will not have been performed or read by a professional orchestra, nor received a public performance prior to the reading date are eligible.
  • Instrumentation should not exceed the BPO’s standard symphonic complement: winds at 3*.3*.3*.3*; brass at 4.3*.3.1; timpani, 2 percussion, piano, harp, and strings ( Standard orchestral doublings are permitted. Works with instrumentation that exceed the above limitation will be considered only with advance approval.
  • Works including soloists will not be considered.
  • Compositions may not include electronics, MIDI, digital technology, and/or sound reinforcement.
  • Do not submit recordings.
  • The quality of the score submitted is the primary evaluation criterion. It is therefore in the applicant’s best interest that the score be clear, accurate, and the best representation of the composer’s work. The additional background and educational information is for eligibility and documentation purposes.
  • Composers who have applied for EarShot Readings in previous seasons are eligible, however you must submit a new and complete application, including score and all required background information.
  • Composers who wish to have their work considered for additional EarShot Readings and opportunities in the current season, may do so indicating on the application form.
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late applications will not be considered.

If Selected

  • Composers must attend reading sessions, feedback meetings and professional development workshops in Buffalo, NY, February 10-12, 2015.
  • Composers must provide professional, legible orchestral parts and scores prepared according to guidelines established by the Major Orchestral Librarians Association. Materials must be delivered no later than December 15, 2014.
  • Composers agree to submit photos and sound clips for web use and a short biography for media purposes; to participate in blogging and social media; to be videotaped/recorded for archival and promotional purposes; and to have their music recorded for archival and study purposes.
  • Composers will receive a copy of the audio recording for their own archival and professional-development use.
  • EarShot will provide air travel (domestic/coach) and housing for each participating composer.

How to Apply

Before submitting an application, carefully review the eligibility & submission guidelines above. A complete submission must include the following:

  • A completed online submission form. If you wish to submit hard copies for consideration, please call 212-977-8495 ext. 201 to obtain the application form and instructions.
  • You will be asked to upload the following information here:
  • A pdf of the score clearly labeled with the composer’s name and title of the work on the cover page.
  • A current resume including educational background, major teachers, awards, and professional affiliations.
  • A list of works, including title, year composed, instrumentation, duration, and performance history.
  • One letter of recommendation from an established composer or other music professional, attesting to the applicant’s accomplishments and potential as an orchestral composer. The recommendation must be on letterhead and must include a signature. Recommendations may be scanned and uploaded, or mailed under separate cover to the address below.
  • There is no application fee.
  • The application process must be completed by 5pm October 17, 2014. Late submissions will not be considered.

EarShot – Buffalo Philharmonic New Music Readings
American Composers Orchestra
244 West 54th Street, Suite 805
New York, NY 10019-5515

For questions or further information:
call: 212-977-8495 ext. 202
email: buffalo@EarshotNetwork.org