EarShot Detroit Symphony Submission Guidelines

Eligibility & Guidelines

  • The Readings are open to composers of African-American heritage.
  • Applicants must be either a U.S. citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing, or studying full-time, in the United States.
  • There are no age restrictions; however, applicants should be composers at the early stages of their professional careers.
  • Each composer may submit only one composition for consideration.
  • Works that have not been previously performed or read by a major professional orchestra (with a budget size of $3.6 million and above) are eligible.
  • Compositions must be no more than 15 minutes in length. A portion or movement from a longer work is also eligible
  • Instrumentation should not exceed the DSO’s standard symphonic complement: winds at 3,3,3,3; brass at 4,3,3,1; harp, keyboard, timpani + 2 percussion, and strings (14, 12, 10, 8, 6). (Standard doublings in for the winds and brass are permitted.) Works with instrumentation which exceed the above will be considered only with advance approval.
  • Compositions may not include soloists, electronics, MIDI, digital technology, and/or sound reinforcement.
  • Do not submit recordings.
  • The quality of the score submitted is the primary evaluation criterion. It is therefore in the applicant’s best interest that the score be clear, accurate, and the best representation of the composer’s work. The additional background and educational information is for eligibility and documentation purposes; these materials are not considered in the general review of scores.
  • Submissions may be considered for other eligible EarShot activities during the 2013-14 season if indicated on the application form.
  • Composers who have applied previously for an EarShot Reading are eligible and must submit a new and complete application, including score and all required background information.
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late applications will not be considered.

If Selected

  • Accepted composers must provide professional, legible orchestral parts and scores prepared according to guidelines established by the Major Orchestral Librarians Association. Materials must be delivered to DSO no later than 5 PM, January 6, 2014.
  • Composers must be available to attend the reading session, feedback meetings and professional development workshops in Detroit, MI, March 9-10, 2014.
  • Composers agree to submit photos and a short biography for media purposes, to participate in blogging and social media, to be videotaped/recorded for archival and promotional purposes, and to have their music recorded for archival and study purposes.

How to Apply

Before submitting an application, carefully review the eligibility & submission guidelines above. A complete submission must include the following:

  • A completed submission form. (PDF)
  • One bound copy of the orchestral score, clearly labeled with the composer’s name and title of the work on the cover page.
  • A current resume for the composer including educational background, major teachers, awards, professional affiliations.
  • A list of works, including title, year composed, instrumentation, duration, and performance history.
  • One letter of recommendation from an established composer or other music professional, attesting to the applicant’s accomplishments and potential as an orchestral composer. The recommendation may be sent under separate cover.
  • A self-addressed, stamped envelope suitable for the return of materials. All supporting materials remain the property of EarShot. Detroit Symphony Orchestra and EarShot are not responsible for lost scores.
  • There is no application fee.

Applications must be received by Friday, October 11, 2013. This is a receipt deadline, not a postmark deadline.

Please send all materials to:
EarShot – Attn: Detroit Symphony Orchestra Readings
c/o American Composers Orchestra
244 West 54th Street, Suite 805
New York, NY 10019-5515

For questions or further information:
call: 212-977-8495 ext. 202
email: detroit@EarShotNetwork.org

This goes on the left