EarShot Berkeley Symphony Submission Guidelines


  • Applicants must be either a U.S. citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing, or studying full-time, in the United States. There are no other geographic restrictions; however, San Francisco Bay area composers are encouraged to apply.
  • There are no age restrictions; however, applicants should be composers at the early stages of their professional careers. Composers must not have had a work performed (other than a reading) by a Bay Area professional orchestra, nor have had a substantial history of works performed by professional orchestras at large.
  • Submissions may be considered for other eligible EarShot activities during the 2013-14 season if indicated on the application form.
  • The quality of the score submitted is the primary evaluation criterion. It is therefore in the applicant’s best interest that the score be clear, accurate, and the best representation of the composer’s work. The additional background and educational information is for eligibility and documentation purposes; these materials are not considered in the general review of scores.
  • Emerging American composers who have applied previously for an EarShot or Under Construction Reading are eligible and must submit a new and complete application, including score and all required background information.
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late applications will not be considered.

If Selected

  • Composers will be notified by Monday, September 30, 2013.
  • Composers must attend reading sessions, feedback meetings and professional development workshops in Berkeley, CA on February 2-3, 2014 and May 4-5, 2014.
  • Composers will compose a work, not to exceed 10 minutes duration, scored for the following instrumentation: 2 flutes; 2 oboes; 2 clarinets; 2 bassoons, 2 French horns, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones (one tenor, one bass), timpani + 1 percussion, piano, and strings: 8, 6, 5, 4, 2. (The following woodwind doubles are permitted: piccolo, English horn, and bass clarinet.)
  • Composers must provide professional, legible orchestral parts and scores prepared according to guidelines established by the Major Orchestral Librarians Association. Materials for the first reading session must be delivered no later than 5:00 PM, December 20, 2013.
  • Composers agree to submit photos and a short biography for media purposes, to participate in blogging and social media, to be videotaped/recorded for archival and promotional purposes, and to have their music recorded for archival and study purposes.

How to Apply

Before submitting an application, carefully review the eligibility & submission guidelines above. A complete submission must include the following:

  • A completed submission form.
  • The score to one orchestral work of any length as the application work sample. A completed work is preferred, but a work-in-progress may also be considered. Extracts and individual movements of longer works will also be considered. The score must be bound and clearly labeled with the composer’s name and title of the work on the cover. (Note: the work sample is generally NOT the piece that will be workshopped and read if accepted to the program. It should serve as an example of the best quality work of the applicant.)
  • A recording or MIDI realization of the work sample may accompany the application in CD format; however, these are not required.
  • Applicants must submit an artistic statement of no more than one page: Please tell us about yourself, what you are trying to achieve in your music, and why you would like to participate in Under Construction. Help us get to know you! The statement should also detail the proposed work to be created and workshopped and its relation to the work sample submitted.
  • A current resume for the composer including educational background, major teachers, awards, professional affiliations.
  • A list of works, including title, year composed, instrumentation, duration, and performance history.
  • One letter of recommendation from an established composer or other music professional, attesting to the applicant’s accomplishments and potential as an orchestral composer. The recommendation may be sent under separate cover. If you have sent us a recommendation letter since 2010, you may indicate that on the application.
  • A self-addressed, stamped envelope suitable for the return of materials. All supporting materials remain the property of EarShot. Berkeley Symphony and EarShot are not responsible for lost scores.
  • There is no application fee.
  • Applications must be received by Friday, August 30, 2013.
  • This is a receipt deadline, not a postmark deadline.

Please send all materials to:
EarShot – Attn: Berkeley Symphony Under Construction
American Composers Orchestra
244 West 54th Street, Suite 805
New York, NY 10019-5515

For questions or further information:
call: 212-977-8495 ext. 202
email: berkeley@EarshotNetwork.org