CALL FOR SCORES: EarShot Readings @ New York Philharmonic

New York Philharmonic EarShot New Music Readings
Submission Deadline: December 2, 2013
June 3, 2014
Performances: June 5-7, 2014

New York Philharmonic, Alan Gilbert, music director, in cooperation with EarShot, is pleased to invite applications for the New York Philharmonic New Music Readings to be held in conjunction with the 2014 NY PHIL BIENNIAL. Composers will be selected for the readings on a competitive basis. Each work will be read in an open rehearsal on Tuesday, June 3, followed by feedback from principal New York Philharmonic musicians, Maestro Gilbert, and mentor composers Christopher Rouse, Steven Mackey, Robert Beaser and Derek Bermel. Three of the works included in the Readings will be selected to be performed as part of the Philharmonic’s subscription concerts later that week, on June 5, 6 and 7, 2014. (One performance for each work.) Travel and accommodations will be provided.

Submissions must be received by December 2, 2013.

Founded in 1842 the New York Philharmonic is the oldest symphony orchestra in the United States, and one of the oldest in the world. It currently plays some 180 concerts a year, and has given more than 15,000 concerts. Alan Gilbert began his tenure as Music Director in September 2009, the latest in a distinguished line of musical giants that has included Lorin Maazel, Kurt Masur, Zubin Mehta, Pierre Boulez, and Leonard Bernstein. Since its inception the Orchestra has championed the new music of its time, commissioning or premiering many important works, such as Dvorák’s Symphony No. 9, From the New World; Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3; Gershwin’s Concerto in F; and Copland’s Connotations. This pioneering tradition has continued to the present day, with works of major contemporary composers regularly scheduled each season, including John Adams’s Pulitzer Prize– and Grammy Award–winning On the Transmigration of Souls; Melinda Wagner’s Trombone Concerto; Wynton Marsalis’s Swing Symphony (Symphony No. 3); Christopher Rouse’s Odna Zhizn; John Corigliano’s One Sweet Morning, for mezzo-soprano and orchestra; Magnus Lindberg’s Piano Concerto No. 2; as well as 14 works in CONTACT!, the new-music series.

About EarShot

EarShot is the nationwide network of new music readings and composer-development programs. The goals of EarShot are to create the nation’s first ongoing systematic program for identifying emerging orchestral composers; to provide professional-level working experience with orchestras from every region of the country; and to increase awareness of these composers and access to their music throughout the industry. EarShot is a partnership of American Composers Orchestra, American Composers Forum, New Music USA, and the League of American Orchestras.

EarShot is made possible with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Booth Ferris Foundation, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music.