home | submission guidelines | submission form



submission guidelines

submission form
If you don't have Acrobat Reader,
you can get it here.


american composers orchestra















submission guidelines

submission form
If you don't have Acrobat Reader, you can get it here.


american composers orchestra














submission guidelines

submission form
If you don't have Acrobat Reader,
you can get it here.


american composers orchestra


EarShot & Colorado Symphony Orchestra present New Music Readings July 16 & 17

PLEASE NOTE: The application deadline for the 2009 Colorado Symphony Orchestra New Music Readings has passed. The following information is provided for reference only. Eligibility guidelines and submission instructions for future Readings offered through the EarShot Network
will be posted as it is available.

colorado symphony

The Colorado Symphony Orchestra and EarShot, the newly formed national orchestral composition discovery network, announce the Colorado Symphony Orchestra New Music Readings, to be held July 16 and 17, 2009, at Boettcher Concert Hall in Denver, Colorado. The readings are designed to be an outstanding artistic and professional-development opportunity for emerging composers and an excellent way for emerging composers to gain visibility in the field of orchestral music. The new music reading on July 17 will be open to the public free of charge. 

These readings will provide up to four emerging composers the opportunity to work closely with the highly regarded Colorado Symphony Orchestra. Composers will be selected for the readings on a competitive basis and the experience will include feedback from selected musicians, conductors, and an esteemed panel of mentor composers.

Established in 1989 as the successor of the Denver Symphony, the Colorado Symphony Orchestra is the state’s only full-time professional orchestra. Each season, the CSO performs a 21-week Masterworks series of classical programs, as well as Pops, Family, Holiday and summer parks concerts, to approximately 220,000 patrons, as well as educational outreach programs reaching over 40,000 students each year.

James W. Palermo, President and CEO of the Colorado Symphony, is delighted that the Colorado Symphony and EarShot will collaborate to present these New Music Readings. “This is a terrific project that brings together young composers, mentors, musicians and administrators all who care deeply about new music. Additionally, the work shop setting provides young composers practical “face time” in front of a live symphony orchestra and an eager audience. This is a win, win, win situation and we at the Colorado Symphony Orchestra are happy to be hosting the event.” 

The Colorado Symphony New Music Readings are a part of EarShot, the nationwide network of new music readings and related composer-development programs. The goals of the program are to create the nation's first ongoing systematic program for identifying emerging composers; to provide professional-level working experience with orchestras from every region of the country; and to increase awareness of these composers and access to their music throughout the industry. EarShot is a partnership between American Composers Orchestra, American Composers Forum, American Music Center, the League of American Orchestras, and Meet the Composer.


Submission Guidelines

To download the submission guidelines in PDF, click here.

  • Applicant must be either a U.S. citizen or non-citizen lawfully and permanently residing or studying full-time in the U.S. 

  • Emerging composers from the Rocky Mountain States are strongly encouraged to apply.

  • There are no age restrictions; however, applicants should be composers at the early stages of their professional careers.

  • Each composer may submit only one composition for consideration. 

  • Only works that will not have been performed or read by a professional orchestra, nor received a public performance in Colorado prior to the reading date are eligible. 

  • Composers who have submitted for recent EarShot Programs but were not selected are automatically considered. Please contact the American Composers Orchestra with any questions concerening eligibility. 

  • Do not submit recordings. 

  • Only works completed after December 31, 2002, will be considered. 

  • Compositions should be up to 15 minutes in length. Shorter works, or a portion or movement from longer works, will also be considered. 

  • Instrumentation should not exceed the following complement of winds at; brass at; timpani; 3 percussion; keyboard; harp; and strings (10 8 6 6 4). Standard orchestral doublings are permitted. Works with instrumentations that exceed the above limitation will be considered only with advance approval. 

  • Works requiring soloists will not be considered. 

  • If selected, composers must provide professional, legible orchestral parts and scores prepared according to guidelines established by the Major Orchestral Librarians Association. MOLA guidelines can be found here

  • The quality of the score submitted is the primary evaluation criteria. It is therefore in the applicant's best interest that the score be clear, accurate, and the best representation of the composer's work. The additional background and educational information is for eligibility and documentation purposes. 

  • Incomplete, illegible, or late applications will not be considered.

  • For more information call 212.977.8495 x202

Application Procedure

To download the submission form in PDF, click here.

All applications must be received no later than 5PM, May 18, 2009.

Please complete the submission form and include it with the following:

  • One bound copy of the score, clearly labeled with the composer's name and title of the work on the cover page.

  • A current résumé for the composer including educational background, major teachers, awards, professional affiliations.

  • A list of works, including title, year composed, instrumentation, duration, and performance history.

  • One letter of recommendation from an established composer or other music professional, attesting to the applicant's accomplishments and potential as an orchestral composer. The recommendation may be sent under separate cover.

  • A self-addressed stamped envelope suitable for the return of materials. All supporting materials remain the property of EarShot. EarShot is not responsible for lost scores.

Please send all materials to:

Colorado Symphony Orchestra New Music Readings
c/o: American Composers Orchestra

240 West 35th Street, Suite 405
New York, NY 10001-2506

  top | home | submission guidelines | submission form